top of page

Catching up with…Daniel Talbott


1) What does theater mean to you?

I know it can sound pretentious when people say this and I really don’t mean it to be and hope it doesn’t come off that way, but theatre’s everything to me—it’s my life, along with my fam and my friends, tennis, and my obsession with the ocean and whales.  I think of theater like this brilliant truth box that shows back to us in every way what we are and where we’re at as a culture and society as a whole. From the way it’s made, to the way it’s marketed, the way it’s housed, publicized, sold, to the way tickets and programs are given out, to our obsession with sixty million dollar theaters over better pay for artists and healthcare, etc. I always think if we’re bored with theatre it’s because of our own inaction – we’re bored with ourselves.

2) What are you looking forward to about working in a short form like MADNESS?

I’m just excited when anyone lets me write something and when someone gives me an objective as a writer. I’m not sure what I’m going to work on but I can’t wait, and I’m crazy nervous and hope it doesn’t suck.

3) What’s next for you?

We’re working on the last few months of Cino Nights and David Adjmi’s brilliant play 3C with Rising Phoenix Rep (co-produced with piece by piece and Rattlestick), and Jose Rivera’s gorgeous new play at Rattlestick. And I have some directing stuff coming up and a play commission for Quince Productions in Philadelphia, which I’m really excited about.

Join our mailing list.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page